City of Denton Runoff Election Scheduled for Dec. 8

Early Voting Will Begin Nov. 23 and Run Through Dec. 4

DENTON, TX, Nov. 18, 2020 – During the Nov. 17 City Council Meeting, Council adopted an ordinance to confirm a Runoff Election for the Denton City Council to be held on Tuesday, Dec. 8, 2020. Council confirmed that no candidate running for Place 6, Place 7 (Mayor), and District 2 received greater than 50 percent of the vote during the Nov. 3 General and Special Elections, resulting in the need for a Runoff Election for these positions. The candidates for Place 6, Place 7 (Mayor), and District 2 are listed below:

Place 6 (At Large):

· Jim Mann · Paul Meltzer Place 7 (Mayor): · Keely Briggs · Gerard Hudspeth District 2: · Ronnie Anderson · Connie Baker

Note: Candidate names are listed in the order that they will appear on the ballot.

Early voting for the Runoff Election will begin on Monday, Nov. 23 and run through Friday, Dec. 4. For a list of early voting dates, times, and locations in the City of Denton, see below:

· Monday, Nov. 23 – Wednesday, Nov. 25 from 8 a.m. – 5 p.m.

· Saturday, Nov. 28 from 8 a.m. – 5 p.m.

· Monday, Nov. 30 – Wednesday, Dec. 2 from 8 a.m. – 5 p.m.

· Thursday, Dec. 3 – Friday, Dec. 4 from 7 a.m. – 7 p.m.

Denton Civic Center 321 E. McKinney St., Denton, TX 76201 Room: Community Room

Denton County Elections Administration Building (Main Early Voting Location)

701 Kimberly Dr., Denton, TX 76208 Room: Multipurpose Room

North Branch Library 3020 N. Locust St., Denton, TX 76209 Room: Meeting Room

Robson Ranch Clubhouse 9428 Ed Robson Cir., Denton, TX 76207 Room: Medina Room

South Branch Library 3228 Teasley Ln., Denton, TX 76210 Room: Program Room

University of North Texas - Gateway Center 801 North Texas Blvd., Denton, TX 76201 Room: Gateway Center Room 43/47

Note: There are additional early voting locations outside of the City administered by Denton County Elections. A full list of Early Voting locations can be viewed at

Voters may vote at any early voting location but must vote at their designated polling station on Election Day. Polling locations will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. on Election Day, Tuesday, Dec. 8. For a full list of Early Voting locations and Election Day voting locations, visit

Mail-in ballots will also be accepted for the Runoff Election. Ballots must be received no later than 5 p.m. on Wednesday, Nov. 25, 2020. Ballots can be downloaded from the Denton County website at and mailed to:

Early Voting Clerk

Denton County Elections Administrator

P. O. Box 1720

Denton, Texas 76202

Note: Early Voting and Election Day locations are subject to change due to unforeseen circumstances. The most current list of voting locations can be found at

Contact: Rosa Rios, (940) 349-8309,

274 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All